Friday, March 25, 2011
This building, Singapore buddhist welfare service, is the centre of many of Singapore's buddhist activities.
In 1981, late venerable Yen Pei bought 73 thousand Square foot of land in Punggol. The construction started in 1982 spring and the building is completed in 1985. The building was named as Fu Hui buddhist Auditorium. It was opened officially by the late 2nd prime minister, Mr Ong Teng Cheong, on 16 March 1986.
Punggol Park is Punggol's community park, it is located beside Punggol canal.
No records could be found of when and who opened punggol park.
Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary is a Catholic church in Singapore. The origins of this Catholic church can be traced to an attap (thatched roof) chapel that was built in 1853 on Upper Serangoon Road, its congregation comprising mainly Teochew farmers living in Serangoon and Punggol. Subsequently, a brick chapel was built in the area and named St Mary's Church. Father Jean Casimir Saleilles, parish priest from 1881 to 1911, was responsible for building the present church in 1901.
Father Saleilles also helped to spread the Catholic faith to Johor. He founded the Church of Our Lady of Lourdes (Johor), later renamed the Church of the Immaculate Conception and subsequently designated a cathedral. His good relationship with Sultan Ibrahim of Johor let the Sultan to present the Church in Johor, as well as the Church of the Nativity in Singapore, each a statue of the Blessed Virgin Mary. The Church of the Nativity's statue still stands in front of the church building.
The Church of the Nativity founded many educational institutions in the region, including the Holy Innocents' High School, Hai Seng Girls' High School (now Hai Sing Catholic School), Convent of the Holy Infant Jesus Punggol (now CHIJ Our Lady of the Nativity), and Montfort School (now Montfort Junior School and Montfort Secondary School).
The Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary was gazetted as a national monument on 14 January 2005.